Photo by JKN on Unsplash

IVANKA’S SWEATSHOP: A COMEDY SKETCH

Debbie Lynn Miller

--

BY Debbie L. Miller

05/25/2024

It’s 2019. IVANKA TRUMP stands in front of sewing machines in a dingy, dimly lit clothing factory. Several South Asian women toil at machines.

IVANKA

(in breathy, measured words)

I’m here in Bangladesh at my premier apparel manufacturing facility. Today, we’re making crop tops that bear the Ivanka label.

(holds up a crop top)

This lovely item sells for $79.99 at Nordstrom’s.

(walks down a row of sewing machines)

As I say in my book, Women Who Work, women are the original multitaskers. As a working Mom, I know what it’s like to juggle work and family responsibilities. I love my kids, but because I want to empower other women, I outsource my mothering to nannies.

IVANKA picks up one of her kids and hands her off to a nanny, then wipes her hands with Purell.

WORKER #1

Mrs. Ivanka, my children live 300 kilometers away. I have not seen them in two years.

IVANKA

Then you definitely need a nanny, or you can take advantage of our free onsite childcare program.

--

--

Debbie Lynn Miller

Brooklyn comedy/satire/humor writer & journaliat is published in Belladonna Comedy, Frazzled, The Haven, The StopGap, Greener Pastures, & The Syndrome Magazine.